CFP ISEA2018 Durban South Africa

A quick update regarding ISEA2018 TIMETABLE

CALL FOR PAPERS AND PARTICIPATION 24th International Symposium on Electronic Art (ISEA2018) and the 5th Arts and Design Digital Festival (Digifest5) June 23-30, 2018 Durban University of Technology, KwaZulu-Natal,

South Africa 


Submission system opens: 01 November 2017

  • Deadline for submission of papers, posters, panels, roundtables, artistic works, design cases, residencies, workshops, and tutorials: 01 December 2017
  • Notification of acceptance for papers, posters, panels, roundtables, artistic works, design cases, residence, workshop, and tutorials: 01 February 2018
  • Deadline for submission of artist talks, conversation sessions and institutional presentations: 01 March 2018
  • Notification of acceptance for artist talks, conversation sessions and institutional presentations: 30 March, 2018
  • Deadline for camera-ready submissions to be included in the proceedings (papers and abstracts of posters, panels, and roundtables): 01 April 2018

ISEA2018: June 23-30, 2018 in Durban South Africa

The ISEA2018 theme of Intersections positions creative technological innovation as an activist engagement into public space and public practice. Creative collaboration between artists, artisans, designers, technologists, entrepreneurs, engineers, scientists and inventors will take place in a context where survival is the most basic instigator for solutions. In such a scenario, technological developments follow and support these solutions. In addition, the role of the artist is essential in providing opportunities to build new and exciting interactions between people and place.

Sue Gollifer is currently the Director of the ISEA International Headquarters. She is an artist, a Principal Lecturer in Fine Art and the Course Leader for Digital Media Arts MA and a researcher and curator at the University of Brighton, UK. She is on a number of National and International Committees, including (CAS) the Computer Arts Society, (DAM), Digital Art Museum, and (DAC) the ACM SIGGRAPH Digital Arts Community. She is currently the ACM Chair of ‘The Distinguished Artist Award for Lifetime Achievement in Digital Art’.

Posted in News