ISEA2016 Announcement

The Board of ISEA International is pleased to announce that the ISEA2016 symposium will be held in Hong Kong in May 2016. We received two compelling bid proposals, one from Rotterdam Netherlands, the other from Hong Kong. The Board and its advisory committee, the IIAC, rigorously reviewed the proposals over several weeks and reached a decision at the end of October.

The successful bid was submitted by the School of Creative Media – City University of Hong Kong, the School of Design – The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Videotage, Microwave Festival and other partner institutions. It described the main symposium and exhibitions venues as “two iconic ultra-modern buildings by Daniel Libeskind and Zaha Hadid which are evidencing the new renaissance of arts and culture in Hong Kong.” A third venue will be the Cattle Depot Artist Village, a reminder of Hong Kong’s past.

The Hong Kong team’s presentation was well-received at ISEA2013’s Annual General Meeting. Its Cultural R>evolution theme operates on several levels. In addition to addressing the impact of digital technologies on culture it relates also to symposium’s timing and local political developments. These include the advent of universal suffrage in 2017, as well as the government’s current massive investments within the West Kowloon Cultural District.

Cultural R>evolution’s meaning is further developed in sub-themes including: The New Economic Geopolitics of (Art-)Making, From Interactivity to Playability, Crowd A.I., (De)institutionalization D.I.Y. and Electronic Art beyond Anthropocentrism.

The ISEA International Board looks forward to working with the Hong Kong team.  Please join us there!


Sue Gollifer is currently the Director of the ISEA International Headquarters. She is an artist, a Principal Lecturer in Fine Art and the Course Leader for Digital Media Arts MA and a researcher and curator at the University of Brighton, UK. She is on a number of National and International Committees, including (CAS) the Computer Arts Society, (DAM), Digital Art Museum, and (DAC) the ACM SIGGRAPH Digital Arts Community. She is currently the ACM Chair of ‘The Distinguished Artist Award for Lifetime Achievement in Digital Art’.

Posted in News

Leave a Reply